American Indian Youth Literature Awards

The American Indian Youth Literature Awards are presented every two years. The awards were established as a way to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians. Books selected to receive the award will present American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts. The First American Indian Library Association American Indian Youth Literature Awards were presented during the Joint Conference of Librarians of Color in 2006.

Year: 2016

Little You

Author: Richard Van Camp

Year: 2014

Caribou Song

Author: Atihko Nikamon

Year: 2012

My Christmas Coat: Memories of My Sioux Childhood

Author: Virginia Driving Hawk Sneve

Year: 2010

A Coyote Solstice

Author: Thomas King

Year: 2010

Meet Christopher: An Osage Indian Boy from Oklahoma

Author: Genevieve Simermeyer