Coretta Scott King Award

The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.  The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.   

Year: 2015


Author: Misty Copeland

Year: 2014

Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me

Author: Daniel Beaty

Year: 2013

I, Too, Am America

Author: Langston Hughes

Year: 2012

Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom

Author: Shane W. Evans

Year: 2011

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave

Author: Laban Carrick Hill

Year: 2010

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves

Author: Vaunda  Micheaux Nelson

Year: 2010

My People

Author: Langston Hughes

Year: 2001

The Other Side

Author: Jacqueline Woodson