Middle East Book Awards

MEOC established the Middle East Book Awards in 1999 to recognize books for children and young adults that contribute meaningfully to understanding of the Middle East.  Books that are nominated for awards are judged on the authenticity of their portrayal of a Middle Eastern subject, as well as on their plot, characterization, and appeal for the intended audience. 

Year: 2016

Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family's Journey

Author: Margriet Ruurs

Year: 2014

Razia’s Ray of Hope

Author: Liz Suneby

Year: 2013

Hands Around the Library: Protecting Egypt’s Treasured Books

Author: Karen Leggett Abouraya

Year: 2012

Folktales from Turkey: From Agri to Zelve

Author: Serpil Ural

Year: 2012

The Wooden Sword: A Jewish Folktale from Afghanistan

Author: Ann Redisch Stampler

Year: 2011


Author: Jeannie Baker

Year: 2010

How Many Donkeys: An Arabic Counting Tale

Author: Margaret Read MacDonald and Nadia jameel Taibah

Year: 2007

Four Feet, Two Sandals

Author: Karen Lynn Williams and Khadra Mohammad