Islamic Information

Islam • [is-lahm] • noun

Definition: To submit to the will of Allah

Root: "Salam", meaning "Peace"


Muslim • [muhs-lim] • adjective, noun

Definition: One who submits to the will of Allah

Root: "Salam", meaning "Peace"


Allah • [uh-luh] • noun

Definition: God (in reference to the one and only)

Root: "Ilah", meaning "god"


The 5 Pillars of Islam

  1. Shahadah (Declaration of faith): To bear witness that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is his messenger. This is the main testimony of faith. No one can be considered a Muslim without believing fully in this statement. It is so important that we recite it in every single prayer. Transliteration~ Ash-hadu an la illaha illa Allah wa ash-hadu an Mohammad ar-rasool Allah. Meaning~ I bear witness that there is no god but Allah, and I bear witness that Mohammed (peace be upon him) is the messenger of Allah.
  2. Salah (Prayer): To pray the five mandatory daily prayers-- Fajr (before sunrise), Thuhr (early afternoon), Asr (late afternoon), Maghrib (after sunrise), Isha (after the sun sets completely).
  3. Zakat (almsgiving): To give charity freely and selflessly.
  4. Sawm (fasting): To fast during the month of Ramadan (i.e. abstain from food and drink from sunrise to sunset, as well as try to improve one's character. This constitutes abstaining from foul language, behavior, and activities while trying to increase in doing good).
  5. Hajj (Pilgrimage): To make the pilgrimage to Mecca, Saudi Arabia at least once in your lifetime if you are able to (financially, physically). This is a an experience of great spiritual cleansing where millions of Muslims from all over the world come together as one in their worship of God Almighty.


The 6 Main Beliefs

1. Belief in God: The one, unique, incomparable God, Who has no son nor partner, and that none has the right to be worshipped but Him alone.

    • Say, “He is Allah, the One and Only.  Allah, the eternal, self-sufficient.  He begets not, nor was He begotten, and there is none comparable to Him.”  (Quran, 112:1-4)

    2. Belief in the Angels: They are honored creatures who worship God alone. They obey Him, and act only by His command.  Among the angels is Gabriel, who brought down the Quranic revelation to Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him).

    3. Belief in God's Revealed Books: God revealed books to His messengers as proof for mankind and as guidance for them (Torah, Gospel, Psalms...). However, over time these works were corrupted by men, and each time, God would send down another scripture. FInally, God revealed the Quran to Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him), and guaranteed the Quran’s protection from any corruption or distortion.

    • Indeed, We have sent down the Quran, and surely We will guard it (from corruption).  (Quran, 15:9)

    4. Belief in the Prophets and Messengers of God: Adam, Noah, Abraham, Ishmael, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, and Jesus (peace be upon them) just to name a few.  But God’s final message to man, a reconfirmation of the eternal message, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad  (peace be upon him). Muslims also believe that prophets and messengers were created human beings who had none of the divine qualities of God.

    5. Belief in the Day of Judgement: A day when all people will be resurrected for God’s judgment according to their beliefs and deeds. They will be held accountable for everything they did in their life on earth, both good and bad.

    6. Belief in Al-Qadar (Divine Predestination): God knows everything. He knows what has happened and what will happen. He has recorded all that has happened and will happen. Whatever God wills to happen happens, and whatever he wills not to happen does not happen. He is the Creator of everything. Despite this, Muslims still believe that they have freewill, and are judged for the choices they make in life.


    For additional information: